4.9
76 Reviews
5
95% (72)
4
5% (4)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
87% Recommend this product (66 of 76 responses)
By Todd
Virginia
Pestle surface is too flat
June 19, 2023
First of all I really like this molcajete - it's not fancy but that's why I like it. Call it rustic or whatever but imperfections give something like this character. Curing took a little while because of its size but I expected that. It took me about 4 rounds of grinding rice to get it fully cured. Each molcajete is diffferent, as some require more and some require less. My only issue is the pestle - It's completely flat, which made curing the the surface near the rim difficult. I wish the grinding surface of the pestle was slightly rounded to make grinding easier and more efficient.
By Peter C.
Saco, California
Beautiful Molcajete
February 16, 2023
I just wanted to thank you for the beautiful molcajete from your store. I have cured and seasoned it and thought that you might want to see the finished product (please see attached).
By Nicolasa
Silver Spring, Md
Good quality
February 2, 2022
I’m impressed by the molcajete. Plan on making some great salsas with it!
By Gloria
Texas
Pestle
January 23, 2022
Wish the pestle could be bought separately
By Melanie
Sandbeach, PA
I love my molcajete
October 16, 2020
The one my family uses in Mexico is almost exactly the same. It makes me happy to have this here in the US.
Pros
  • The surface is great for efficiently mincing and combining ingredients. It is also visually appealing.
Cons
  • Well, it IS heavy, but that?s part of its charm.
By Marilyn
Zwolle, LA
This is the real deal!!
October 11, 2020
I am very pleased with my purchase and made guacamole in it after seasoning it by grinding several handfuls of rice in it to smooth it out. It is also a work of hand hewn art and is beautiful on my kitchen counter.
By Anonymous
Dewey, AZ
Wonderful in so many ways
October 5, 2020
My husband ordered for us and it is perfect! So many great meals will revolve around this.
By Ardis A.
Westlake, Ohio
Molcajete de Piedra volcanica
September 16, 2020
Received my order, very pleased, the size was right, workmanship very good, received order very quickly. Will be ordering more from my.mexgrocer.com. Thank you, my son will love this!!
By Ana
Nashville Tennessee
Lava Stone Mortar and Pestle. Love It!!!
September 9, 2020
Excellent addition to my kitchen. Solid and rustic. Couldn't be happier. Thanks! Great product from Mexico!
By Alicia
Chicago, IL
I love my molcajete
August 17, 2020
I just got done making some habenero salsa in my new molcajete and it is so delicious. I wish it was a bit more bigger so I could make a larger amount. It would be even better if the grinding stone was longer so my fingers wouldn’t be in the salsa while grinding. My fingers are burning from the chile lol
By Connie
California
Authentic
August 10, 2020
I love the rustic and uniqueness of my molcajete. It takes a bit to cure it but so worth it.
Pros
  • No sand in the salsa after curing it.
Cons
  • Wish the tejocote was a bit longer so my hands don?t touch the salsa when I?m grinding it away.
By Shannon
Myrtle Beach, SC
Awesome!
July 12, 2020
Very happy with this purchase, everything I expected.
Pros
  • Authentic
Cons
  • none
By Paul C.
San Antonio, TX
Authentic city
July 10, 2020
Fantastic for guacamole and homemade salsa
Pros
  • Easy to clean
  • Makes for a super cool serving container
  • Cool looking
  • Authentic cooking vessel
Cons
  • Seasoning takes a while but worth it when it's ready.
By Landi
Asheville, NC
Authentic and awesome
July 8, 2020
I got exactly what I wanted. Seasoned it up, and I have been making the best salsas I have ever made. Comfortable to use, and really heirloom quality. If anything happens to my molcajete, I will buy another one from this site. It shipped securely, too and arrived safe and sound. Don't hesitate if you want a quality lava rock molcajete.
Pros
  • Handmade, natural stone, well formed.
By Natalie
Tulsa, ok
Authentic
July 7, 2020
Love this Molcajete so much I ordered another one for guacamole!! It is perfect and exactly what I was looking for!
Pros
  • Its real lava rock. Not 2 are identical and you can see the tool markings from the craftsmanship!
Cons
  • None
By John S.
Athens, GA
Love It
June 29, 2020
I have been waiting for the right mortar and pestle for years. This one delivers exactly what I’ve been searching for. It’s a heavy base that allows me to extract everything out of the ingredients I’m using for a dish. Highly recommend it!!!!
By Juan
Miami Florida
Molcajete
June 27, 2020
Very good molcajete I have already used it several times! It came in a very well done package and arrived intact
By EdinNaZu
West Virginia
Great Molcajete
January 10, 2020
Extremely well crafted and heavy/durable. Fast shipping. Very pleased.
By Javier
UT
Molcajete
December 16, 2019
Perfect just like my mother used. My mother has passed what I remember is the sound it makes when she was grinding peper and cumin when I was little back in the 60s
Pros
  • Well made
By Terri
Prospect, Ct
Great product
October 28, 2019
Just like the picture. Great for grinding herbs, avocados, spices. Would definitely by this again
By Jesus
Plymouth Michigan
Good Molcajete to make Salsas
October 2, 2019
It’s nice to have a real Molcajete (looks real) but nowadays I dont know. But it looks good and I have made already like 5 salsas and it hasnt shown any defects. Recommended if you want a real Molcajete from Mexico. Viva Mexico!
By Stephanie
PA
Love this product
August 2, 2019
Love this! I wish you made a bigger one!
By Rose H.
San Diego
I love my Molcajes! I went directly to the warehouse and got 2!
August 2, 2019
Mom owns one, it’s 50 yrs old. She gave me a small one and love it, but needed a bigger one. I love the Lava Rock material, texture and detail. It is art from my beautiful culture. Every piece is uniquely crafted to its perfection. Don’t expect any to look alike. That is the beauty of it. I got one for my Boyfriend in Vegas and one for me just because I fell in love with them. The River Rock is also beautiful but I preferred the Lava Rock. I recommend to anyone! *treatment is easy-google has many ideas* Enjoy shopping! My new shopping website
Pros
  • Perfect size! Legit
Cons
  • None
By Mayra G.
Dallas
Great quality
July 18, 2019
AHHHH I LOVE ITTTTTT
By Kenny
Dennison, Ohio
"I did it my way"
May 17, 2019
I wanted an authentic molcajete so I went to am-a-son not to purchase but to get bits of info from customers etc and such elsewhere. Somehow I ended up online mexgrocer in san diego my hometown too. I learned a lot by then and it's close to the border and made of lava. After watching some utubes online and picking the best methods each of what I thought for curing and seasoning and put each idea together I recommend this: add 1/2 cup of salt and a splash of vinegar to a pot of water and boil the molcajete and for 20 minutes or so. Rinse in running water never use soap for cleaning. Then add water not rice inside the molcajete and begin the process of smoothing out the inside and top edge. Of course this includes the pastel. Smooth all of it except the outside unless you want that. The water will paste eventually but it's still a good lubricant for grinding stone etc. Rinse then add wet rice and grind. Should be smooth after job is done. Season it with jalapenos garlic and...what ever. Let it set put in the oven upside down over a pan 300 degrees for 30 min...it's done.
Pros
  • It's mine
Cons
  • No complaints
By Chucho
Chicago, Illinois
Perfect!
May 2, 2019
Product was delivered as promised. I thought it needed to be seasoned, but it was ready to go out of the box. Thanks!
By Vimary
OH
Love it
May 1, 2019
I am very happy with my purchase, it arrived very well packed. Sturdy and good quality. I already my first salsa.
By Missy C.
Alabama
I am in love!
April 22, 2019
I purchased this after watching friends make fabulous guacamole in their molcajete. I have made guacamole and salsa at least once a week since getting my molcajete. The online video tutorial thoroughly explains how to prepare the molcajete and I have had no problems what-so-ever. I have enjoyed experimenting with a variety grilled/roasted peppers and tomatoes in my guacamole and salsa. The possibilities are simply endless!
By Tyna S.
santa rosa CA
wow this is it!!!!!
April 11, 2019
I have finally found an authentic molcajete 🙌🏼 thank you mex grocer!!! not a single bit of grit after curing
Pros
  • great size
  • authentic
Cons
  • none
By Blanca M.
Seattle, WA
Highly recommended!!! :D
March 26, 2019
The best purchase ever!!! Making salsa in my molcajete is simply the best. I love it so much that I even bought one for my dad and my sister
Pros
  • Authentic
By Carol
Boise, ID
Wonderful!
September 26, 2018
I bought this as a gift for a friend, she loved her mothers and always said she wanted one just like it, so I purchased this beautiful black lava Molcajete for her. We were both blown away by how beautiful it was, just amazing and just like her mothers. She is so excited to use it!
By Greg
Florida
Very cool
September 22, 2018
Great piece. I use it every day
By Mickey
Fort Collins, CO
Best Molcajete I've seen for sale
July 28, 2018
Authentic lava molcajete! I have purchased two of these now... one as a gift, and one for myself. It is a wonderful deep "bowl" with plenty of room for guacamole or salsas.... such a fun and extremely useful addition to my kitchen.
By Robyn
Batavia, IL
Love it
June 9, 2018
It was pretty easy to season. I love it for making gaucamole. Nothing works quite as well. I love the way it looks so much - I leave it out on the table.
By Sandra V.
Tucson AZ
Black Lava Stone Mortar & Pestle
June 5, 2018
I love this product. I have cured it, and used it for making guacamole. it was awesome, and perfect size for the company. I love this, it is exactly what I needed and just like the one that I used in Mexico.
Pros
  • Very heavy and sturdy. Due to the stone, makes grinding harder spices, like whole peppers really easy and quick!
Cons
  • Curing it! But I expected to have to do it, I love that I controlled the cure.
By jgs
Texas
Great quality - very nicely made molcajete.
June 2, 2018
Great quality - nicely made molcajete. I followed the seasoning instructions that were emailed to me (thank you!) and have enjoyed using it. I made salsa verde just today! Also, it is just beautiful in my kitchen.
By Jacqueline M.
Lakewood,NJ
Perfect!! No sand!!
April 4, 2018
I love this molcajete! thats what I have been looking for. My husband and I are very pleased with it and my salsa is amazing every time.
By Chuck D.
Parkesburg, PA
Great, Real Basalt Molcajete at a Good Price
December 29, 2017
Initially I was searching for a simple mortar and pestle to grind some spices. My search led to a molcajete and I was intrigued. I had seen them used as serving dishes in restaurants but never thought about what they were used for except serving. The more a searched the better information I got. I decided I wanted a real basalt (not composite materials) with a decent size. This one fit all of my requirements and more. The size is great for a good sized serving of salsa verde (about ¬Ĺ quart or so). It’s attractive and can be used as a serving dish. Best of all the price is great! When you get it, expect to spend some time ‚€œseasoning” it. I found lots of help in the internet and the Mexgrocer site has instructions as well. I did a bunch of dry grinding the bowl and lip and pestle (both ends with nothing in it. This doesn’t make the bowl smooth but it does break away stone that would loosen with use. Then I took my power sprayer to it for 15 minutes or so. Any loose material in the crevices and texture. I followed this by grinding some rice as recommended just to see if there was any dust in the crushed rice ‚€“ there wasn’t. I finished by smashing some salt and garlic in with the rice and worked it in throughout the bowl and let it sit overnight before cleaning it. The bowl was very useable at this point. Probably overkill for seasoning but it was sort of fun. Using the molcajete is great. I find that I don’t have to peel the tomatoes or tomatillos as I would if using a food processor since the skin is ground up completely by the rough texture of the bowl. The same for chiles. Garlic onions become a paste. The molcajete does a far better job of grinding and mixing ingredients than a food processor but it does so at the expense of your muscles! After three batches of salsa in one day I really felt it later that night! I later used the molcajete only as a serving dish for guacamole ( I don’t care for pureed avocado so I smashed it with a fork) with the other salsas beside it. All in all, a great product. You will not be disappointed with this one! By the way...It works perfectly well as a simple mortar and pestle for grinding spices though you may lose some because of the texture.
Pros
  • Real basalt - not a concrete composite
  • Good size
Cons
  • Takes some time and effort to "season" it
By Mick
San Augustine, TX
Great customer service
November 11, 2017
The first molcajete I ordered arrived with a leg broken off. I contacted customer service and they quickly sent out another one at no charge. They even allowed me to keep the broken one, which while broken, could still be used (just not level). Spent a few hours preparing them by grinding rice in them and now they're ready for delicious salsas!
By Kas
San Francisco
Exactly what I was looking for!
October 3, 2017
I received my molcajete within a few days and when I opened it I found one with "character" as I noticed some of the bottom leg crumbled off but it still stood perfectly! I thought it made it unique as imperfections always do! Its a wonderful addition that I have long been wanting! Thank you !
Pros
  • Authentic
  • Great size
By Diana
Washington
I LOVE my molcajete!
May 29, 2017
I tried to season my molcajete the "rice way" but 45 minutes later I deciced to follow what others have done here and on youtube and go to my local manual car wash and use their power-wash hose & it worked great! I got 4 minutes per wash time so I did it twice because I didn't get all of the rice out the first time around. I made guacamole and fresh salsa in it after cleaning and rinsing it at home with vinegar and a brush! I can agree with all the other reveiws that say the molcajete gives your food this amazing yummy taste that you don't get in a plain bowl and the way it grinds and mashes the ingredients makes the food the perfect consistentcy! I am so glad I purchased my molcajete!!! Very happy 😊!
Pros
  • Can tell it is made from the right kind of volcanic rock and from one piece and that I don't have to worry there is concrete mixed in with the rock! Worth the price!
Cons
  • none!
By Gary S.
Medford, Oregon
Classi Morter & Pestle
January 27, 2017
I thought that this would be a lot harder to break-in but after a few grindings of rice I put water in the well and cooked it in the over on a tray until the rice was gone. I've always wanted one, now I'll have it forever!
By Don F.
Lake City, Co
Excellent
November 9, 2016
Using this tool gives fantastic flavor to gucamole.what a difference it makes!
Pros
  • Easy to season and use
By Chris P.
Delray Beach, Fl
Awesome Molcajete
September 27, 2016
Love this Molcajete. Wasn't hard to season it at all. Its the perfect size to use 2-3 avacados to make Guac.
By Chris
Murray ky
Great
September 14, 2016
As expected
By Maria
Carolina del Norte
Molcajete de piedra negra
September 7, 2016
Es muy bueno el molcajete para hacer salsas .
Pros
  • Es buen producto¬†
By An :.
Los Angeles
Works just as described
July 4, 2016
Works amazing, it's not cured so make sure to check online on how to do so.
By Marilyn
Denton, Texas
Great item!
May 1, 2016
On receipt of my molcajete, I was amazed how large, nice, and heavy it was. I performed the curing phase several times till it was ready to use.  I love making salsa with it!  I'm extremely pleased with my purchase!!  Thanks!
By A S.
San Diego, CA.
A masterpiece of authenticity
January 27, 2016
This Molcajete de Piedra Negra is truly authentic, & exactly what I was looking for. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I plan on using it for the rest of my life !!! I'd like to pass along a couple of great tips for initially "cleaning" the lava grit out of the pours before using your molcajete for the first time. Believe it or not, I took my molcajete to a self serve car wash & sprayed all of the grit out of it with the high pressure hoses. Then, at home, I ground at least 4 - 6 applications (handfuls) of uncooked white rice, mixed with a tiny bit of water (so the rice didn't fly all over the place), into the bowl, until the rice began to fill in the holes/pores. Lastly, I wiped the rice out with a dry cloth (not paper towels). And, needless to say, I've been making epic salsa's ever since. I highly recommend this product to everyone !!!
Pros
  • All pros
Cons
  • No cons
By Ruth
Pittsburgh Pa
Molcajete
December 3, 2015
I loved it. Just wish I could get it in an even larger size.
Cons
  • Not large enough. Would of been nicer if it came already cured.
By Debra
MI
Work Of Art.
November 22, 2015
I have other molcajetes, but this one is especially lovely. It is a pleasure to use.
By Pat S.
Santa Cruz, CA
I like my molcajetes.
December 23, 2014
These things are the bomb for mashing avocados quickly for guacamole, and I'm sure I'll become an expert in mashing lots of other things once I get into the cookbook.
Pros
  • They're heavy duty!
Cons
  • They're HEAVY!
By Mary
Steamboat Springs, Colorado / Oaxaca de Ju√°rez, Oa
Exceptional Quality
October 7, 2014
Exactly like those I've used in Oaxaca. The bowl area is deep enough to make a decent amount of salsa or gualcamole. Be prepared to take some time to season the vessel and tejalote; best done outside as the rice tends to jump a bit at first. Also, place a sturdy cutting board or other surface underneath as the legs will scar a counter or table. Enjoy!!!!
Pros
  • Good size and authentic material and construction.
Cons
  • The feet can easily scratch or scar a table or counter or other unprotected surface.
By joela
21502
authentic
July 28, 2014
everything i expected and looks great in the kitchen! can't wait to use it!!!
Pros
  • looks!
  • weight!
Cons
  • none
By Moldaleen T.
Canon City, Colorado
Very satisfied with my Molcajete de Piedra Negra.
June 3, 2014
I will do business with this business again.
Pros
  • great business
Cons
  • NO CONS
By Tita
Denville, NJ
Love this Molcajete
May 20, 2014
I've had a Molcajete that I bought in Mexico almost 30 years ago. I bought one from this sight 2 years ago for my son when he moved away from home. Was worried about the quality, but it is great & he loves it. Recently bought another for a niece's wedding shower & now plan to buy another for another shower.
By TBallard
Brooksville, florida
Awesome
March 6, 2014
It's what I expected and very happy with the size .
By Sheri
Toledo, ohio
Molcajete
March 18, 2013
I don't know how I lived without my molcajetes! I use one for hot dishes, and the other to make guacamole , or vegies for fajitas. My molcajete keeps my food hot for an hour and a half! Great for buffets! Very easy to cure, and not gritty at all! Now my molcajetes have a wonderful flavor inside the bowl.
Pros
  • The convenience of keeping food hot. And looks great for presentation.
Cons
  • Nada
By Arthur
Meeker, Colorado
Excellent
January 2, 2013
I've been using my molcajete two or three times a day for a couple of weeks now and just love it. After breaking it in with rice and salt and washing thoroughly with plain water, I have not seen even one particle of grit. Not one!
Pros
  • Functionality
  • Quality
By vic
Phoenix, AZ
Authentic Molcajete
September 26, 2012
Love this molcajete; however, it took a lot of grinding with rice in order to get this molcajete seasoned. I wish mexgrocer could offer molcajetes already seasoned and ready to be used.
Pros
  • It's the real deal and the size is perfect.
By Kim
Milwaukee, wi
Love my molcajete!
August 15, 2012
Purchased two of these after reading on a website that mexgrocer and amazon sell authentic molcajetes. The amazon purchase is nice, lighter in color and looks different. I don't know authentic from otherwise, but between the two I prefer the molcajete I received from mexgrocer. It's sleeker looking, darker in color and has a rustic yet contemporary look to it. Smaller than I'd hoped but it will suffice. Still in the process of seasoning with rice cumin and garlic. House smells great. Can't wait to make my first salsa. Will definitely keep on display on my counter. Happy with my purchase. Highly recommend mexgrocer Watch the you tube video on the history of these hand made molcajetes and you'll come to appreciate it all the more.
Pros
  • Color
  • Shape
  • Design
  • Fits contemporary decor
Cons
  • Wish it was bigger
By Elke
Cottonwood, Ca
Awesome
June 7, 2012
Rrcieved this as described. Seasoning required rice and salt once. Have used for salsa and guacamole switch absolutely no grit. This is the real deal...don't skimp! I had a molcajete that was given to me as a gift ad never could get rid if grit when trying to season. Spend the extra twenty dollars and but this...you won't regret it!
By Jonnie
The Range, Northern Minnesota
My Molcajete
April 2, 2012
I am really impressed with this item. I followed cleaning instructions, ground salt, then rice (which gives new respect for persons who did or do this every day) and washed it than last night made salsa. It was so darn wonderful we didn't mind the little bit of grit that meant I should grind rice a few more times. The item is so beautiful in its simplicity and very heavy. It sits on a open kitchen shelf in place of pride when I can enjoy it between uses. It was delivered rapidly and packed great. I put silicone on the bottom of the feet so they don't scratch my counter since it is lava stone & rough
Pros
  • The design
  • The heaviness
  • The ease of use
Cons
  • Grinding, grinding, grinding LOL
By DANIEL
Long Beach, California
Black volcanic rock molcajete
March 9, 2012
This is a very good quality molcajete in which you can make superb guacamoles and salsas. Mine is about 8 inches across and holds a little over 3 cups. The tejolote is a bit more than 4 1/2 inches long. I have had it for about 3 months now, and use it often. The black stone it is made from has just the right amount of porosity (holes) for effective grinding (I have used some of the smoother ones and they actually take more effort and time to grind the ingredients because there is not enough "tooth" in the surface to do the job). In this one I can make up a good guacamole fast! I seasoned mine by grinding white rice in it until it no longer shed the tiny black particles. it really continues to get better the more you use it. I clean it with hot water and a brush only. I highly recommend this molcajete. Thank you MexGrocer!
Pros
  • Great quality black volcanic rock and craftsmanship. The "bowl" shape is just right especially where it curves upward to meet the lip or rim. The tejolote (pestle) is the perfect shape and size.
Cons
  • No dislikes.
By Greg
California
Love it but...
February 20, 2012
The functionality of the product is perfect and I love using it. The only problem I have with the one I received is it has a nice size cosmetic defect. A part of the stone is brown with a good size pit. It looks kind of ugly on that side.
Pros
  • Functionality
  • Taste
Cons
  • Cosmetic Defect
By Mike
San Diego, California
Genuine Article
December 12, 2011
This is the real one! I live along the Cali border w/Mex and this is better than the one's sold in TJ. Bowl inside diameter is 6 inches (15cm) Bowl inside depth at center is 2 inches (5cm) Overall size diameter is 8 inches (20cm) Overall height is 4 inches (10cm) The pestle (tejolote) is 4.5 inches long (11.5cm) and 2.25 inches (5.75cm) at the grind base. Pure volcanic material. Does NOT come with seasoning instructions. Be sure you find out the proper seasoning method. Many resources online. I like the simple rice, cumin and garlic method though it does take more time. [Suggestion: Get Playtex glove and cut off finger/thumb. Use on your fingers to grind while doing the seasoning. Saves your skin! Never, ever, wash with any kind of soap. Only use warm water, maybe a vegetable brush, and let thoroughly dry. Enjoy the supreme and authentic taste. But don't try a mole just yet unless you know what you are doing!
Pros
  • Authentic lava stone. Perfect size. Quality product.
Cons
  • Pestle a little too small. Should be at least 6 inches (15 cm) long for good grasp.
By Cindy Y.
Review for Molcajete de Piedra Negra / Black Stone Mortar & Pestle Molcajete
June 22, 2011
Beautifully made, great cooking tool. I love the old world look and feel of the molcajete and the freshness of homemade salsa.
By Nokie
Review for Molcajete de Piedra Negra / Black Stone Mortar & Pestle Molcajete
May 2, 2011
I love this item and only wish I had bought one sooner! I did a little internet research and decided to start the curing process with a few hits with a power washer. I followed that with the oven method described here and the results were great. I served my first molcajete guacamole this weekend and it was a big hit: guests were asking where/how to get one! I looks very nice as a serving piece for the guacamole as well. You'll be pleased with this product.
By KD
Review for Molcajete de Piedra Negra / Black Stone Mortar & Pestle Molcajete
April 4, 2011
I bought this as a gift for my sister. I wanted to make sure I got her a quality molcajete. I was very pleased with the shipping and price and she said that it was very easy to season the molcajete. No regrets here -great item!
By Getty22
Review for Molcajete de Piedra Negra / Black Stone Mortar & Pestle Molcajete
March 14, 2011
I remember how my Grandmother made the best salsas with her molcajete, and I wanted to find one that she would be proud to own. Well, I found it here at MexGrocer.com. It seasoned perfectly and made salsa that even Great Gram would love! Don't worry about getting fooled with an imitation product - this molcajete is "puro mexicano."
By Sharita
Review for Molcajete de Piedra Negra / Black Stone Mortar & Pestle Molcajete
February 20, 2011
I had been shopping for a molcajete, but wanted to be sure I was getting an authentic one and not one mixed with concrete or made out of a mold. This piece is exactly what I was hoping it would be. The curing process did not take too long, though I used rice instead of corn as the directions suggested. It is a beautiful black stone, I can't wait to start grinding my spices and breaking it in. I have no doubt it will last for years!
By John
Review for Molcajete de Piedra Negra / Black Stone Mortar & Pestle Molcajete
January 16, 2011
Me encanta este molcajete. El tamano es perfecto para hacer salsas molcajeteadas. I suggest everyone have one of these if you want to cook Mexican food!
By amazingrace
Review for Molcajete de Piedra Negra / Black Stone Mortar & Pestle Molcajete
August 14, 2010
I absolutely love my molcajete! Guacamole and salsas have incredible flavor. It's also useful for grinding spices. I now make my own fresh spice blends for fajitas and tacos, and keep thinking up more ways to use this tool. In addition to its usefulness, the molcajete & tejolete look just wonderful on display in my kitchen. Get one, you will love it too!
By Valentina
Review for Molcajete de Piedra Negra / Black Stone Mortar & Pestle Molcajete
June 6, 2010
This is a great buy. The guacamole tastes so much better than before and is served very nicely as well. I first combine onion, cilantro, jalapeno pepper and salt, grind it very thoroughly, then add avocado and diced tomatoes plus lime juice. Really good.
By Christine C.
Review for Molcajete de Piedra Negra / Black Stone Mortar & Pestle Molcajete
May 21, 2010
The first time I saw a Molcajete was in NY at Dos Caminos restaurant where I had fantastic guacamole. I've recreated that recipe a few times, but until using the Molcajete to make it the taste just wasn't the same. I used the same method as the previous reviewer to grind sea salt, and half of jalapeno pepper, tomato cilantro & onion- then added the avocado and lemon juice. So much better than mashing with fork in a bowl or making in a food processor- both methods of which I've used.
By GW
Review for Molcajete de Piedra Negra / Black Stone Mortar & Pestle Molcajete
April 26, 2010
This is my first molcajete. I had never even seen one before. Before ordering it, I was worried that I would get one of the bad ones -- ones that never season, leave grit, etc. Well, I am very happy with this one. I spent a couple of afternoons seasoning it with dry white rice -- grinding a small handful each time to a fine dust. It's a bit of work. I think 3-4 times total. The last time left no visible grit. I have now made several batches of guacamole and salsa in it. Not a SINGLE bit of grit. NONE AT ALL. But most important, the guacamole and salsa are very, very good. For the guac, I start by grinding several serranos and some onion and garlic into a green paste (not easy, it helps to add some salt), and then I blend in avocados and lime juice. The taste is incredible, and I don't think it could be replicated by a processor or blender. The molcajete is surprisingly easy to clean -- just a nylon brush and some really hot water (no soap). If you are like I was -- new to molcajetes and unsure of what to get -- I think you'll be very happy with this one.

Page 1 of 1


Proudly delivering authentic Mexican food directly to your door for over 23 years.